…and You're a monkey!

those crazy kids

Blessings

Yesterday we had to move my step-dad to Hospice care.

I have to start with telling you I hate to refer to him as my step-dad because that just takes away from who he has really been in my life.  My dad passed away when I was 16, he was a wonderful man, he taught me about integrity, loyalty, work-ethic and trustworthiness.  My mom married my second dad when I was 19.  Dad2 taught me how to be an adult.  He took the base that my dad built and reinforced it.

Almost two years ago Dad2 was told he only had 4-6 months to live.  Last night my mother read to me a list of blessings that were brought into his live in the nearly two years since we were told he had cancer.  Our family has truly been blessed to have these two years.

In the last 2 years:

  • He got to meet his Great-grandson (his bio daughters grandchild)
  • He has seen 4 grand-kids graduate high school
  • I graduated college (much bigger deal to him then I knew according to mom)
  • He got to walk one grand-daughter down the aisle at her wedding
  • He got to spend time with Jaxon (the newest great-grandchild, born in May, who I believe he was waiting to meet)
  • He got to help Sharon find the kittens that momma cat hid in the tires (Might not sound like a big deal to you and me but it was huge to Sharon
  • He explored the world of bugs, golf cart rides and dog chasing with Harry
  • He got to see Jacob follow in his foot steps and join the Navy

There are more, many more.  I am so happy that we had these last 2 years and I am going to miss him so much.  I have teased him for years that “when there are two ways to do something he always picks the hard way, if it is harder it must be better”

God be with you till we meet again.  I will look forward to meeting both my dads at the gates.

June 27, 2010 Posted by | My life | 2 Comments